2016 ANZSOC – Awards & Prizes

We are pleased to announce the winners of the ANZSOC awards for 2016. All winners will be announced at the 2016 Conference in Hobart.

  • Student Paper Prize

    Lorena Rivas, Griffith University for her paper Contemporary Perspectives on Crime: Antiquities Trafficking, supported by Professor Susanne Karstedt.

  • New Scholar Prize

    Dr Bianca Fileborn, LaTrobe University for her article Doing gender, doing safety? Young adults’ production of safety on a night out published in Gender, Place and Culture, A Journal of Feminist Geography.

  • New Zealand Student Award for Best Abstract

    Marita Leask for her paper titled ‘A critical discourse analysis of New Zealand sentencing decisions in cases where women kill in the context of intimate partner abuse’.

  • Australian Student Award for Best Abstract

    Madeleine Ulbrick for her paper (with A. Flynn and D. Tyson) titled ‘Abolishing Defensive Homicide: A Step Towards Populist Punitivism at the Expense of Mentally Impaired Offenders’. The PhD candidate is first and corresponding author.

  • The Allen Austin Bartholomew Award

    Associate Professor Julia Quilter, University of Wollongong for her article Populism and criminal justice policy: An Australian case study of non-punitive responses to alcohol-related violence, published in the Australian and New Zealand Journal of Criminology.

  • Distinguished Criminologist Award 2016

    The ANZSOC Distinguished Criminologist Award is presented each year to an individual who, in the opinion of the judges, has demonstrated outstanding, significant and sustained contribution to Australian or New Zealand criminology in one or more of the following areas: teaching and scholarship, advancing international appreciation of criminology through research and publications, or involvement in criminology in public life. The award is thus made in recognition of the lifetime contribution to criminology of the recipient.

  • Adam Sutton Crime Prevention Award

    The Adam Sutton Crime Prevention Award is presented each year to an author who, in the opinion of the judges, has written the best publication or report in the area of crime prevention. The award can also be presented to two or more co-authors.

  • The Allan van Zyl Memorial Prize

    An amount of AUD1,350* is available to the winner of this prize to defray costs associated with travel to, and registration for, the ANZSOC annual conference.  An eligible applicant will be a resident of the Northern Territory who is currently an enrolled student of criminology or criminal justice or a related discipline, or any person employed by Northern Territory Police, Department of Correctional Services Northern Territory, or a Northern Territory justice department or Non-Government Organisation (NGO) that works in a criminological field more generally

Recent Comments
    Recent Comments